Welcome Guest 

Show/Hide Header

Welcome Guest, posting in this forum requires registration.

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Calculated KP Inclination Angle mismatch to CAD Data
arbartz
Post Calculated KP Inclination Angle mismatch to CAD Data
on: January 5, 2021, 15:19

Alright, so this is my first time using this tool, so maybe I'm doing something wrong, but it appears that the calculated KP Inclination Angle in the RA tool does not match the measured KP Inclination Angle in CAD from which I'm pulling my points from.

See the attached photos for measurements. The important things to note is that all distance measurements match up to what I measure in CAD. (KP/Spindle Offset, KP/Hub Offset, & KP Length) However, RA seems to think my KP Angle is 13.6deg, while CAD says 7deg. Is this a measurement error on my part or is there something funky with how RA is doing the math?

(Side note, it'd be REALLY nice if we could make our own uprights/spindles that are "fixed", sorta like the 3 canned spindles that are available.)

Link to model:

FieroRev1

Right now I'm just trying to make sure my upright matches the one I'll be using (C5/C6 Corvette Upright), then I'll go and start nailing down the control arms, hard points, etc.

Thanks!

racingaspi-
rations.co-
m
Post Re: Calculated KP Inclination Angle mismatch to CAD Data
on: January 5, 2021, 16:06

It looks like the measurements don't quite match.

What is the coordinate system displayed in the CAD drawings? You can use one of the vector coordinate input methods within the calculator to compare:

ISO 8855
SAE J670e

Click the pencil button then click the form button then select one of the above.

Can you upload the CAD drawing without the dimensions? Can you also send over the following measurements:

king pin inclination,
stub axle / kpi intersection distance from top pivot,
stub axle length from kpi to wheel mounting face
distance between top upright and lower upright pivots

I can then see about creating a pre-defined part.